setrmetrics.blogg.se

Ableton 10 midi monitor
Ableton 10 midi monitor







  1. #Ableton 10 midi monitor how to#
  2. #Ableton 10 midi monitor Patch#
  3. #Ableton 10 midi monitor windows#

I change drum machines a lot so I adjust the latency to get it close as possible to the bar hit. I don't do song modes or compose to my drum machine that often, I get the audio in and go from there since it is rather easy to manipulate the audio further in Ableton. So my workflow is always - drums in first and I record audio.I usually make 16-32 bar patterns with a lot happening so I can do my arranging in the DAW. I also turn my track monitoring off when recording and monitor my drum machines through Total Mix. Also the reason your tracks may be coming in early is you may have "reduce latency when monitoring" enabled. People slap that all over their tracks without realizing each instance adds like 1.5ms of latency. Any plugin with latency - delete it, powering off is not enough. When you do that, you can see what the latency is of each plugin when you mouse over it. You want to enable "plugin delay compensation". The way to do this is make sure your ableton session has no plugins running. I like that a lot, but to be clear, I am not talking 10ms off, I get all my stuff within a much tighter range. I am not sure why, but it doesn't matter because part of the "sound" of hardware is everything is a little off. The good news is that it is rarely that off from the grid (i sequence a lot with a Pyramid).īut the first thing to understand is that the latency will never be exactly the same each project. I rarely record MIDI in, but when I do, I quantize it in ableton. This is ok, I have never seen a record made where all the gear was in perfect harmony and no sacrifices were made in the process. Next is that you need to have a workflow established, and most likely accept that you will have to make some sort of sacrifice on something. Make sure you are running at 64 buffer and 48000, that is a good start.

#Ableton 10 midi monitor windows#

Windows 10?So the first thing is the latency will never be set and forget consistent. I'm just wondering what I could be doing wrong. I fear that the latency analyser won't help much since even If I get a solid latency and jitter measurement I won't be sure that this is the actual latency I will be getting in a "real world" scenario.

#Ableton 10 midi monitor how to#

I know there's a midi latency and jitter analyser that a forum member made but I'm searching for a less "academic" and more empirical opinion on the matter as how to get consistent results from these machines. So the two to decide from is the ff400 and the elektron but I'm clueless of how I can accurately compare or even measure their results since they vary from time to time. I could say that when the elektron "works" it has the best latency of all the others but it seems not as consistent as the FF400. The elektron tm1 is a bit moody: sometimes the recorded audio is almost hitting the marker (almost 1ms latency) and other times recorded hits are even earlier than the timestamp marker.

ableton 10 midi monitor

Jitter is evident as some hits are recorded a little bit later or even earlier than the 3ms mark. Most of the time the recorded audio hits are about 3ms late (to the right of the marker). The ff400's midi output when captured as audio is about 3mS late and jitter seems to be affecting the notes recorded even after the first few bars. The returning audio with monitor option set to "off" is recorded to an ableton audio track directly from my ext.input.

#Ableton 10 midi monitor Patch#

My audio interface of choice is the FF400 and I'm trying to decide between these midi interfaces but I don't get consistent results between them.įor testing I'm triggering 16th notes of a BSII basic patch (one sine osc, filter bypassed and adsr at (0,0,1,0) => 1 being fully open and recording its output thru one of my ff400's line inputs. I've got multiple USB midi interfaces namely my FF400's midi I/O, a midisport 8*8/s,an edirol um-1s and an elektron tm-1. Midi latency per se is not my problem but it's the latency of the recorded audio that worries me. I'd like to get an idea of how bad my midi latency is within Ableton and Windows 10.









Ableton 10 midi monitor